Accenture Match Play Golf Betting Guide

The Accenture Match Play golf championship was held at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club in Marana Arizona. Tiger Woods was welcomed back to to the golf tournament after taking half of the 2008 season off to recover from knee surgery. The world number one suffered an early defeat by South African Golfer Tim Clark, who in turn was knocked out of the championship by 19 year old Rory McIlroy.

Top contenders Stewart Cink, Paul Casey and Rory McIlroy proved no match for Australian golfer, Geoff Ogilvy, who was the Accenture Match Play Championship winner for the second time having won the tournament in 2006 and 2009.

Other past Accenture Match Play Winners include Tiger Woods, Jeff Maggert, Steve Stricker, Darren Clarke and David Toms. The championship winner takes home the Walter Hagen Cup, as well as prize money and official recognition by the PGA and European Tour. In 2008, the Accenture Match Play Championship had a total purse of $8 million and awarded a total of 26,250 FedExCup points, with the fortunate winner earning a hefty $1.35 million and 4,725 points.

Accenture Match Play Winners

Boasting some of the most competitive golf for sports betting, eligibility for the Accenture MatchPlay Golf Championship is limited to only the top 64 players in the Official World Golf Ranking. The format for the event is single-elimination match play with players paired off in reverse order.

Accenture Match Play Golf Championship Course

After a five-year run at the Carlsbad Resort in California, the Accenture MatchPlay Golf Championship is now permanently hosted at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club at Dove Mountain in Tucson, Arizona. In 2008 the event was held at The Gallery South Course – designed by John Fought – is a 7,351 yard, par 72-hole layout that has been challenging all tour pros since the first golf tournament played there in 2003. Every match of the golf tournament is played over 18 holes, with the exception of a 36-hole final round.